PREREGISTRATION IS REQUIRED for all Corporate & Community Classes.

Ways to Preregister:

Online: You can now preregister for classes online. Before preregistering for classes online; however, you must become a member. To become a member complete an application by Clicking Here, or select "Become a Member" from the menu on the left. There is no cost or obligation associated with becoming a member of CCED.

By Phone: Call 252-222-6200. Our business hours are Monday - Thursday, 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. and Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

In Person: In the Corporate & Community Education Building, 206 College Circle, Morehead City, NC.

General Statement
A major objective of Carteret Community College is to provide quality education at the lowest possible cost for students. Registration fees paid by students are kept at a minimum and do not represent the total operating expenses of the College. The registration fee is set by the North Carolina General Assembly and is subject to change.

Registration and Fee Information
Students will pay registration fee at the first class meeting, unless it is a pre-pay designated class. By action of the N.C. General Assembly, effective August 15, 2013, North Carolina residents 65 years of age or older will no longer be fee waived for continuing education classes. Registration fees and/or insurance fees are collected the first class meeting, unless the class is designated pre-pay. Most books may be purchased through the college bookstore. For book information call 252-222-6252.

Refund Policy
For occupational classes that meet FOUR TIMES OR LESS, a 75 percent refund shall be made on the first day of the class. For classes that meet FIVE OR MORE TIMES, a 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the official 10 percent point of the class. There are NO refunds of registration fees for Community Service courses or workshops. A student who officially withdraws in person and completes a "Request for Refund" form in the CCED office prior to the class meeting is eligible for a 100% refund.

Dual Enrollment
Corporate and Community Education courses are open to all persons 18 years of age or older. A high school student 16 years or older may be admitted to appropriate courses, except Basic Skills courses, concurrently under the following conditions: (1) Upon recommendation of the chief administrative public school officer and the approval of the president of the College; (2) Upon approval of the students program by the principal of the school and the president of the College; (3) Upon certification by the principal that the student is taking at least three high school courses and is making appropriate progress toward graduation. You can obtain a Dual Enrollment form from your high school.


Abbreviations
M = Monday; T = Tuesday; W = Wednesday; Th = Thursday; F = Friday; S = Saturday; Su = Sunday; TBA= To Be Announced; TBD= To Be Determined; BLET = Basic Law Enforement Training; WCL = Western Carteret Library, Cape Carteret; ECHS = East Carteret High School, Beaufort; CC Civic Center = Crystal Coast Civic Center; CCCC = Country Club of the Crystal Coast, Pine Knoll Shores.



Basic Skills


U.S. Citizenship
To prepare students for the U.S. Citizenship Naturalization test. This course will help students show that they can use English by speaking, listening, reading and writing. Students will also learn about American history and U.S. government. Teach the skills necessary to: complete the Application for Naturalization (N400); be successful in the INS interview; and pass the U.S. government and English literacy test required for naturalization.
Course Fee: no charge--Book Fee: no charge--n/a
Start Date
10-24-2016 9 weeks, M/W 6:30 - 8:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 115

Business and Industry


Entrepreneurship Academy
If you are a budding entrepreneur or leader of a startup or early stage business looking for support to take your business to the next level, this interactive, hands-on course is designed for you. From creating your business plan, marketing, pricing, to basic bookkeeping; this class will help you develop your entrepreneurial talent through action learning and foster sustainable enterprises. Participants completing all six classes will receive a REAL Entrepreneurship Certificate of Completion. This course uses the Rural Entrepreneurship Through Action Learning (REAL) curriculum. Scholarships are available. Call 252-222-6123 for more information.
Course Fee: $70 (Scholarships available)--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
10-13-2016 6 sessions, Thursdays 5:30 - 9:30 pm Smith Bldg., Rm. 313

Introduction to Human Services: DSS Income Maintenance Caseworker
This course is the first of a two part training program designed to provide the skills needed to start a career in Human Services with an emphasis on employment with the NC Department of Social Services (DSS). You’ll gain entry level skills required to become a DSS employee, as well as interview and resume skills, job search and workplace success skills, and customer service skills.
Course Fee: $125 (Call 252-222-6204 to see if you qualify for registration fee waiver!)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-17-2016 16 sessions, M/W 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 112

Marketing Your Craft
We will be diving into all things FREE or almost free to help market and sell your crafty talents. This course addresses helpful resources that are available to showcase your talents to your target market. In this class, you will create a custom logo, create an easy website, open up your own online Etsy shop and plan a successful photo shoot of your craft. We will discuss online sources, local sources, and openly talk about our experiences as crafters and what we have stumbled across to help with exposure.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-18-2016 8 sessions, Tuesdays 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 318

Certificate and Licensure


Electronic Notary Certification (eNotary)
This course will instruct existing North Carolina notaries public in the newly legislated procedure required to exercise electronic notarial acts as set forth by North Carolina's Secretary of State. Participants must hold a valid commission as a North Carolina notary public to qualify for this certification. The course will cover the N.C. E-Notary Act, eligibility and registration, E-notary processes, technology solutions and providers, ethics reg. E-notarizations, consequences of misconduct, security standards, best practices and departmental recommendations. Note: Tuition includes materials delivered in class.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: included--n/a
Start Date
10-11-2016 1 session, Tuesday 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 319

Notary Public
Course provides training that meets the requirements of Chapter 10B of the NC General Statutes for individuals seeking appointments as Notary Publics in North Carolina. Note: Must have no criminal background, excludes traffic violations. Also must be at least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED equivalent. Students must purchase book prior to the first class meeting. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information.
Course Fee: $65--Book Fee: $29.90--Application Fee to State: $50
Start Date
11-14-2016 2 sessions, M/W 8:30 am-12 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 220

Real Estate Broker Relationships and Responsibilities
The first of three courses designed to assist the provisional broker to meet the 90-hour post-licensing educational requirements set forth by the N.C. Real Estate Commission. This course consists of high-level advanced instruction covering agency relationships and duties to principle and third parties, working with sellers and buyers. Includes issues confronted when agents leave/change firms with resulting licenses and education concerns. For more information, go to www.ncrec.state.nc.us.
Course Fee: $125--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
11-29-2016 4 sessions, T/Th 8:30 am-5 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 221

Real Estate Broker Selected Topics
The third of three courses designed to assist the provisional broker to meet the 90-hour post-licensing educational requirements set forth by the N.C. Real Estate Commission. This course consists of high-level advanced instruction covering land use controls, miscellaneous law issues, sale of undeveloped land and other special topics. For more information, go to www.ncrec.state.nc.us.
Course Fee: $125--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-18-2016 4 sessions, T/Th 8:30 am-5 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 221

Real Estate Provisional Broker
This Real Estate Prelicensing course prepares individuals to sit for the real estate license examination administered by the NC Real Estate Commission. Strong mathematical and reading comprehension skills are necessary to successfully complete this course. Required textbook: Modern Real Estate Practices in North Carolina, 8th updated edition. Recommended textbook: Mastering Real Estate Math. For more information, go to www.ncrec.state.nc.us. Students should also bring a 3-ring binder and calculator to class.
Course Fee: $180--Book Fee: $73.12--n/a
Start Date
10-31-2016 11 sessions, M/T/W 8:30 am-4 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 221

Computer Training


Basic Computers
In this course, students start from the beginning. Learn basic typing skills and ways to increase your speed. Also, become familiar with the basic functions of using a computer through hands-on instruction on essential computer concepts, navigating the start screen, file management, and the basics of using email and the internet. Need more than just the basics? Consider taking our Computer Bootcamp course.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-17-2016 12 sessions, M/W 6 - 8 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 317

Photoshop Elements
If you're a novice with no photo-editing experience or you want to upgrade skills you learned in an earlier version of Elements, this course is for you. New features include Guided Edits, which guide users step-by-step through the process of achieving certain image looks, and a range of image organization options. There's also an option to upload videos directly to sharing sites such as Facebook and YouTube. Edit images, correct flaws, create images for marketing, prepare images for email and the Web, and organize your images so you can keep track of them.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: $68--n/a
Start Date
11-07-2016 8 sessions, M/W 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 318

Culinary and Service Industry


Hospitality Careers
Restaurants, hotels, museums, clubs, amusement parks are all just a few of the employers in Carteret County in the hospitality industry. If you are considering a career in culinary, hotel management, property management, or one of the many other hospitality careers, but aren’t sure which path to follow, take this class to learn from the experts about your various career choices and the paths to get there. Explore different hospitality career tracks and what training and certifications are needed. Learn hospitality industry job search strategies and tips for landing the perfect hospitality job! HRD fee waivers apply. Call 252-222-6116 or 222-6127 to see if you qualify.
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for a fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-18-2016 4 sessions, T/Th 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 114

Professional Bartending
Learn bar operations and how to prepare specialized cocktails, frozen and layered drinks all while gaining speed and efficiency in preparing drinks. Gain knowledge of beers and wines. Learn how to properly garnish, how to freepour and learn about liquor laws and liability issues. The class involves not only lecture and instruction, but hands-on time behind the bar. Course also includes TIPS certification a skills-based, responsible alcohol training and certification program that is designed to prevent intoxication, underage drinking, and drunk driving. TIPS gives individuals the knowledge and confidence they need to recognize potential alcohol-related problems and intervention to prevent alcohol-related tragedies. Must be 18 years of age to attend course.
Course Fee: $125--Book Fee: $32--Certification Fee: $18
Start Date
10-10-2016 16 sessions, M/W 6 - 8:30 pm Culinary Bldg., Bartending classroom

ServSafe: Sanitation and Food Safety
Course provides accurate, up-to-date information for all levels of employees in all aspects of handling food, from receiving and storing to preparing and serving. Prepares students to take the ServSafe sanitation exam which is offered, at no charge, the last day of class.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: $95--n/a
Start Date
10-17-2016 4 sessions, M/T 1 - 5 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 220
11-07-2016 4 sessions, M/T 1 - 5 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 220

Education, Nonprofit and Language


Effective Teacher Training
This class is great for anyone interested in being a substitute teacher or anyone that would like to learn more about lesson planning and teaching methods. Topics include instructional preparation and presentation, student interaction, time management, learning expectations, evaluation and curriculum principles and planning. Prerequisite: None
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: $40--n/a
Start Date
10-25-2016 8 sessions, T/Th 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 113

Employment Skills


ABCs of NCWorks and Resumes
NCWorks is a one-stop online resource for job seekers in North Carolina. Job seekers can search for jobs, create resumes, and find education and training. Participants in this class will register on NCWorks Online, learn all the ins and outs of this job seeking tool, and learn techniques for developing an effective resume.
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
09-27-2016 1 session, Tuesday 9 am-1 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 319
10-25-2016 1 session, Tuesday 9 am-1 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 319
11-29-2016 1 session, Tuesday 9 am-1 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 319
12-13-2016 1 session, Tuesday 9 am-1 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 319

Applications, Resumes and More
Instructor guided process of filling out applications, creating resumes and tips for the job search. Covers the Federal job application process. HRD fee waivers apply, call 252-222-6116 for details.
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-10-2016 4 sessions, M/T/W/Th 8:30am-12:30pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 314
11-07-2016 4 sessions, M/T/W/Th 8:30 am-12:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 314

Computer Basics for the Job Search
Course focuses on using technology in developing and implementing job search strategies, researching career and occupational information, accessing governmental and education resources, understanding the impact of social networking on employment, and emphasizing the role of technology in the workplace. HRD fee waivers apply, call 252-222-6116 for details.
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for a fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-17-2016 4 sessions, M/T/W/Th 8:30am-3:30pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 314
12-05-2016 4 sessions, M/T/W/Th 8:30am-3:30pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 314

Work Ethics for Work Excellence
The most effective and productive workers are those that possess a good work ethic. They practice punctuality, use their time wisely, and exhibit a set of values and behaviors that result in individual and organizational success. A good work ethic is a learned behavior. This course, intended for both the employed and those seeking employment, creates an awareness of the behaviors associated with good work ethics.
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for a fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
11-10-2016 1 session, Thursday 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 219

Health Careers


Medication Aide
The Medication Aide program prepares students to safely administer medications with emphasis on the 6 RIGHTS OF MEDICATION ADMINISTRATION and documentation on the MAR (Medication Administration Record) to include routine and PRN (as needed) medications by various routes, IV and injectable medications are not part of this course. This course is limited to 10 students. After completion of the 24 hour class the student will receive a Certificate of Course completion and will be able to apply for the NC State exam administered by Pearson Vue to be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry. To participate in the program, the student must have a high school diploma or GED and must be currently registered on the North Carolina NA I Registry. To register for class, contact the Nurse Aide Coordinator at 252-222-6019.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: $15.48--n/a
Start Date
10-18-2016 3 sessions, T/Th/F 8 am-4:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 122b

Nursing Aide I (CNA I) Refresher
This class will help the student become proficient in their skills as a CNA I in order to pass the NC State test for CNA I. For any North Carolina CNA that has let their certificate expire within two years. If coming from another state, must complete the North Carolina NA I program. This is a 40 hour course. Contact the Nurse Aide Coordinator at 252-222-6019 for more information. Upon completion of the CNA I Refresher, the student will be eligible to take the NC State test at Carteret Community College or a regional testing facility. There is an additional cost for this test of $101.00 to be paid when registering online for the written and practical examination.
Course Fee: $125--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
12-08-2016 5 sessions, T/Th/(last day)W 8 am-4:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 122a

Nursing Aide II Competency Assessment
The Nurse Aide Competency assessment program is available only for those Nurse Aide II's who have an expired Nurse Aide II listing, currently on Nurse Aide I registry and meet all eligibility requirements in # 8 pre-requisites competency assessment. All of the Nurse Aide II skills identified on the Nurse Aide II task list will be reviewed, assessed and successfully completed for the Nurse Aide II to be determined competent in the required complex nursing skills in caring for the patient according to the current teaching modules and skills checklists by the North Carolina Board of Nursing with emphasis on sterile technique, wound care, elimination, catheter care, ostomy care, irrigation and removal of fecal impaction, oxygenation including suctioning and trach care, alternate feeding nutrition such as G-tube feeding, etc. , peripheral iv assistive activities and Finger Stick glucose monitoring. This assessment may take place in the skill lab, in simulation, in a patient care setting, or a combination of these. Contact the NA Coordinator at 252-222-6019 to pre-register. Application to the state is $24 for certification upon successful completion.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--Application to State: $24
Start Date
12-05-2016 3 sessions, M/T/W 8 am-2:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 122b

Life Enrichment


Art - Mixed Media
Learn to draw, paint, or use watercolor; whatever medium you like. Open to beginners and experienced artists.
Course Fee: $40--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
10-27-2016 6 sessions, Thursdays 9 am-12 pm WCL, Rm. 3&4, Cape Carteret

Dance, Shag
Beginning to intermediate shaggers welcome. Learn the popular N.C. State Dance for social dancing at parties, weddings, beach music concerts and clubs. No partner necessary.
Course Fee: $25--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-04-2016 4 sessions, Tuesdays 6 - 7 pm Bryant Bldg., Open Area

Dance: Ballroom Introduction
Dance like a star! Experience the elegance of the Waltz and the Fox Trot, the liveliness of the Swing and the drama of the Tango, Rumba, and Cha Cha. No partner or prior experience necessary. Great for couples date night!
Course Fee: $30--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
11-09-2016 6 sessions, Wednesdays 7 - 8 pm Camp Glenn Bldg. on campus

Dance: Foxtrot Beginner
This class is much like Ballroom Introduction, but will focus on one dance, the Foxtrot. This smooth dance has the feeling of elegance and sophistication. No partner or prior experience necessary. Great for couples date night!
Course Fee: $30--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
11-09-2016 6 sessions, Wednesdays 8 - 9 pm Camp Glenn Bldg. on campus

Managing Grief
Join author, Gina Farago, as she takes you through the processes of managing grief for yourself or supporting a loved one.
Course Fee: $10--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
11-10-2016 1 session, Thursday 6 - 8 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 112

Money Management Basics
Provides basic training in personal money management topics such as budgeting, banking, consumer loans, personal credit, home purchasing, and financial recovery. (HRD fee waivers apply, contact 252-222-6116 or 222-6127 to see if you qualify.)
Course Fee: $70 (Call 252-222-6116 to see if you qualify for a fee waiver)--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
11-01-2016 7 sessions, T/Th 6 - 9 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 221

Plant Medicine
Plants are our allies and support us in health, stress, illness, and recovery. Learn how to use them for your physical, emotional, and spiritual health. We will explore foods, extracts, medicines, and essences. Instructor, Dea Daniels, is an RN with over 45 years of experience in health care.
Course Fee: $35--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-25-2016 2 sessions, Tuesdays 6 - 8 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 219

Traditional Chinese Medicine and Emotions
A fascinating look at the Chinese understanding of emotions. What creates anxiety, confusion, sadness, depression, and anger. This understanding will provide options for coping with your emotions and/or resolving them with methods other than medication or psychotherapy. Instructor, Dea Daniels, is an RN with over 45 years of experience in health care.
Course Fee: $20--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
11-08-2016 1 session, Tuesday 6 - 8 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 219

Waterfowl Carving
Learn to cut, carve, and finish the wooden waterfowl of your choice.
Course Fee: $55--Book Fee: n/a--Insurance Fee: $0.55; Supply Fee: $10
Start Date
10-10-2016 8 sessions, Mondays 8 am-12 pm McGee Bldg., Room S3
10-10-2016 8 sessions, Mondays 1 - 5 pm McGee Bldg., Room S3

Yoga - Gentle/De-Stress
Instructor Theresa Jade Morton gently guides students through therapeutic style yoga stretches and breathing to support a healthy body. Class includes relaxation techniques to teach you how to relieve stress and tension from the body and mind while calming the nervous system. Gentle yoga can safely improve balance, strength, range of motion, and body alignment as it helps reduce pain. Appropriate for all age students and no prior yoga experience needed. Please bring your own mat.
Course Fee: $40--Book Fee: n/a--n/a
Start Date
10-25-2016 6 sessions, Tuesday 5:15 - 6:15 pm Camp Glenn Bldg. on Campus
10-27-2016 6 sessions, Thursdays 12:10 - 1 pm Camp Glenn Bldg. on Campus

Yoga - Intermediate Level II
Instructor Sasha McClure will guide students through this alignment-based Vinyasa Flow Yoga class. Understanding of basic posturing will be helpful, but is not required. All are welcome! Bring your own mat.
Course Fee: $50--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-07-2016 6 sessions, Fridays 8:30 - 10 am Camp Glenn Bldg. on campus

Massage and Related Bodywork Therapy


Herbal and Natural Treatments for Massage Therapists
This class introduces the useful, practical and safe use of herbals and botanicals as a valuable therapeutic tool for the massage therapist. Significant properties and energetics of herbs used in both eastern and western body treatments will be covered. Students will create and learn the protocol for several botanical cross-cultural therapeutic and detoxifying treatments, including Ayurvedic and Thai herbal compresses, a nurturing and relaxing back treatment and more. These protocols offer the massage therapist a fantastic way to offer more to clients through the incorporation of healing herbs and plant-based treatments. Instructor, Jeannie Faulkner, NCBTMB CE Provider #451797-11. Prepayment required by 9/23/16. 16 Hours – NCBTMB Approved
Course Fee: $295--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-01-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 9 am-6 pm McGee Bldg., Rm. 263

Public Safety and EMS


Healthcare Provider BLS CPR
This American Heart Association course teaches CPR skills to use with victims of all ages, use of an automated external defibrillator and relief of foreign-body airway obstruction. It is intended for participants who provide health care to patients. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information. NOTE: The book, "AHA BLS for Health Care Providers", can be purchased from the college bookstore prior to the day of class. You must have a current text book to attend this course. To contact the bookstore, call 252-222-6252.
Course Fee: $36--Book Fee: $24.00--CPR card: $4
Start Date
10-08-2016 1 session, Saturday 9 am-2 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 102
11-12-2016 1 session, Saturday 9 am-2 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 102

Heartsaver First Aid, CPR, AED
The American Heart Association Heartsaver First Aid course teaches rescuers to effectively recognize and treat adult emergencies in the critical first minutes until emergency medical services personnel arrive. The course also provides a complete health and safety training solution for first aid and adult, child,infant CPR/AED. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information. NOTE: The book, "AHA Heart Saver First Aid CPR AED", must be purchased prior to the day of class. You must have a current text book to attend this course. To contact the bookstore, call 252-222-6252.
Course Fee: $36--Book Fee: $29.75--CPR card: $4
Start Date
10-15-2016 1 session, Saturday 9 am-3 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 102
11-19-2016 1 session, Saturday 9 am-3 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 102

PALS Provider
You must preregister by calling the Corporate & Community Education Division at 252-222-6200 at least two weeks prior to the start of the course date. Current course text book is mandatory. Students must complete the appropriate pre-test prior to the first day of class. For fee exemption, bring a letter of affiliation to the class. CCC Bookstore is 252-222-6252.
Course Fee: $70 (fee waived for Fire & Rescue Personnel)--Book Fee: $52.74--Card Fee: $6
Start Date
10-21-2016 2 sessions, F/S 8:30am-5:30pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 119b

PHTLS Provider
You must preregister by calling the Corporate & Community Education Division at 252-222-6200 at least two weeks prior to the start of the course date. Current course text book is mandatory. Students will receive the pre-test on the first day of class. For fee exemption, bring a letter of affiliation to the class. CCC Bookstore is 252-222-6252.
Course Fee: $70 (fee waived for Fire & Rescue Personnel)--Book Fee: $73.63--Card Fee: $15
Start Date
10-07-2016 2 sessions, F/S 8:30 am - 5:30 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 119b

Transportation


Auto OBD Inspections Certification
This course is designed to prepare auto technicians and service personnel as OBD emission inspectors for motor vehicles. Course topics include regulations and test inspection procedures required by the NC DMV - Enforcement Section - for OBD emission inspectors. Upon completion, a student should understand the rules, regulations and procedures for OBD emission inspections, be able to inspect a vehicle properly and be prepared to sit for the state certification exam. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information.
Course Fee: $70 --Book Fee: n/a--Insurance Fee: $0.55
Start Date
10-24-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.
11-28-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.
12-12-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.

Auto Safety Inspection Certification
This course prepares auto technicians and service personnel as safety and emission inspectors for motor vehicles. It includes regulations and test inspection procedures and is taught to ensure that the student understands the rules and regulations, can inspect a vehicle properly and can successfully pass qualification exams for certification as a safety and emissions inspector at a licensed inspection station. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--Insurance Fee: $0.55
Start Date
10-10-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.
11-07-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.
12-05-2016 2 sessions, M/W 6 - 10 pm Automotive Shop Bldg.

Forklift Operator Certification
Learn how to meet OSHA's Powered Industrial Truck Standard using the National Safety Council's Coaching the Lift Truck Operator Training Program. Participants will learn: operator training definitions from OSHA and NIOSH, lift truck design, vehicle safety inspections, moving with and without a load, picking up and stacking a load, utilizing scanning techniques. Special considerations such as trailers, ramps and elevators, and pedestrian safety are covered.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: $5 (in classroom)--Insurance Fee: $0.55
Start Date
11-11-2016 1 session, Friday 8 am-5 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123

Motorcycle Safety - Basic Rider Course
Note: You must call 222-6200 or 6076 for available dates, to receive prepayment information and to sign up due to limited class size. The Basic Rider Course is designed for beginner riders of all ages. You must be able to ride a bicycle and have some degree of strength since the course is physically demanding. Students will be required to complete an eCourse before their class begins. Courses are offered throughout the year and meet on Saturday and Sunday, from 8 am - 6 pm. Payment of $150.55 is due at the time of registration. No refunds will be issued five days before the first class session. Motorcycles are provided for the class. Bring a helmet if you have one. You can register and pay online for this course. Call 252-222-6200 for information.
Course Fee: $150--Book Fee: none--Insurance Fee: $0.55
Start Date
10-15-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 8 am-6 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123
10-29-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 8 am-6 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123
11-05-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 8 am-6 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm.123
11-19-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 8 am-6 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123
12-03-2016 2 sessions, S/Su 8 am-6 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123

Vehicle Escort Driver Certification
Prerequisite: Students must be 21 years old to become certified with the State of North Carolina as an escort driver. Course satisfies the requirements set by the N.C. Department of Transportation to certify Oversize-Overweight load escort vehicle drivers. Escort drivers are required to take a four hour recertification class every four years.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-14-2016 1 session, Friday 8 am-5 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123
12-02-2016 1 session, Friday 8 am-5 pm Rhue Bldg., Rm. 123

Vocational and Marine Trades


Marine Assistance Towing Endorsement
Provides training and testing for OUPV and Master licenses to provide commercial assistant towing services for hire.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: Book included --none
Start Date
11-10-2016 1 session, Thursday 9 am-1 pm Martec Bldg., Rm. 101

Marine Captain's Licensing (OUPV)
Provides training to mariners seeking their US Coast Guard Operators License as Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels (OUPV) upon Great Lakes, Inland and/or Near Coastal waters as specified in 46 CFR Part 10. Course prepares students for the USCG examination given at Carteret Community College or a USCG Regional Examination Center (REC). Ideally, students taking this course should have completed a minimum of one year underway on vessels with 90 days of that experience acquired during the three years prior to enrollment. Class includes CPR/First Aid certification. Upon successful completion of our OUPV License class, the student receives a certificate which, with the complete application, may be submitted for the OUPV License to the USCG. Carteret Community College wants to make sure that all students signing up for the OUPV class understand the USCG requirements for the license. If you have any questions regarding license requirements or have any unusual health issues, we recommend you visit the USCG/National Maritime Center web site at www.uscg.mil/nmc or email: iasknmc@uscg.mil or call 1-888-427-5662 to ensure that you are qualified to hold the license. Have a question? Call the Coordinator at 252-222-6116.
Course Fee: $180--Book Fee: $75.96--CPR Card Fee: $4
Start Date
10-17-2016 10 sessions, M-F 8 am-5 pm Martec Bldg., Rm. 101

Upgrade Master 100 Tons to Master 200 Tons (Near Coastal)
Provides training and testing for upgrade of existing 100-Ton Masters license to 200-Ton Masters license.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: Provided in class--n/a
Start Date
11-14-2016 3 sessions, M/T/W 8 am-5 pm Martec Bldg., Rm. 101

Upgrade OUPV to Master 100 Tons (Near Coastal)
Provides training and testing for upgrade of OUPV license to 25, 50 or 100 ton Master (Near Coastal). Tonnage level of license will depend on sea-service.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: provided free in class--n/a
Start Date
11-07-2016 3 sessions, M/T/W 8 am-4 pm Martec Bldg., Rm. 101

Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator Continuing Education (6 hr)
Course satisfies the requirements for 6 hours of continuing education credit for Wastewater Treatment Plant Operators.
Course Fee: $70--Book Fee: none--n/a
Start Date
10-07-2016 1 session, Friday 8:30 am-5 pm Wayne West Bldg., Rm. 116