EMS Online Classes

The Emergency Medical Service Program provides certification in CPR, First Aid, EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) and Paramedic.

Continuing Education is available to rescue squads, EMS services, fire departments, and other qualified agencies.
Fee-based classes in this program are available to interested citizens, businesses, industries, and church groups. Classes are held on campus, online and throughout the county.
Kevin White, Public Safety Coordinator
252-222-6201 / whitek@carteret.edu


Drug Assisted Intubation/Airway
This course is for any Paramedic who wishes to, or is required to be DAI certified. Specific Topics: Review of the pharmacology of drug assisted intubation (DAI) medications, Protocols, Policies and Procedures related to DAI as approved under the NCCEP Guidelines; Review of failed DAI cases in North Carolina using MOANS, LEMON, RODS and SHORT to find and predict difficult and impossible airways. Review of the 6 “P’s” of DAI. Interactive case studies; students will work in teams to perform the RSI’s on simulated patients in the airway lab to be cleared to perform DAI in Carteret County. Print the certificate at the end of the online course. You will need to present it to the instructor during the separate airway lab class to get certified.

CCED Pre-Registration Button


NCOEMS is not accepting Transition courses after December 31, 2018.
What happens if you do not transition prior to 12/31/18?
1. You will not expire until the date listed on your current Credential.
2. Your Credential can’t be renewed at the end of your current Credential Cycle.
3. You will need to complete an NCOEMS Approved Refresher Course prior to your date of expiration to prevent a lapse in your Credential.
What happens if you expire because you did not transition?
To regain your Credential, you would have to go through the expired Credential process.

Currently, NCOEMS is using Continuum as their official transition list.
Individuals are considered to be “Transitioned” if their Credential level reflects:
i) Emergency Medical responder (EMR)
ii) Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
iii) Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT)
iv) Paramedic

Individuals are “Not Transitioned” if their Credential level reflects:
i) Medical Responder (MR)
ii) Emergency Medical Technician-Basic (EMT-Basic)
iii) Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate (EMT-I)
iv) Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic (EMT-P)