Commercial Drivers License (CDL)
Truck Driver Training through Carteret Community College!
Our truck driving training program provides graduates with an excellent foundation for a truck driving career. Students are thoroughly tested on the road and through written exams to ensure that they possess the necessary skills and knowledge to successfully and safely operate commercial vehicles.
The Class “A” Commercial Drivers License (CDL) course provides students with training to inspect and operate tractor-trailers and assume driving responsibilities on the road. Emphasis is placed on vehicle inspections, defensive driving, range maneuvers and motor carrier safety regulations and certification. Additional topics include trip planning, hours of service, cargo planning, size/weight laws and general maintenance procedures. This program meets the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) standards of specialized training in the areas of driver qualification, hours of service, driver wellness, and whistleblower protection for entry-level drivers who are subject to the requirements (49 CFR Part 380).
The Commercial Truck Driving program provides the training for the North Carolina State Commercial Truck Driving License examination for new drivers.
All training instruction is provided at school facilities and in school provided equipment. Our classes meet Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday, 6 – 10 pm, and Saturday, 8 am-6:30 pm.
1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Have a valid North Carolina driver’s license.
3. Pass and obtain a US Department of Transportation (DOT) physical examination no more than 6 months prior to start of class.
4. Obtain a driving record not more than 3 months prior to the start of class. Any of the following violations with four (4) years of finishing the class will prohibit entering the program:
a. Driving while impaired (DWI).
b. Careless and reckless driving.
c. Hit and run.
d. Refusal to take chemical test.
5. Pass a DOT drug screening test at a lab designated by the school.
A four-hour orientation session will be held approximately six weeks prior to the start of each course. This will ensure students have enough time to take care of all requirements needed to enter the CDL Program.
Mandatory Orientation for Spring 2020 TBA
Course Fee: $2,000.00
Contact Rick McCormac at email@example.com or 252-222-6203 for more information or to be added to an interest list for the Spring 2020 class.